Road to Chess Mastery – Part 1

I understand this deviates from my other articles, but is more about me and, of course, chess. I love chess, and have played it for a couple of years now, though never with any serious intent. However, having just finished my first exam series at University and now having some time on my hands in the holidays,  I thought that it would be interesting to try and improve my ability in chess, and take back this study plan to University and continue there.

The aim of this is to improve my chess, which is currently mediocre, at around about a Class C player, though without ever having played an official tournament this is an estimation based off of online ratings. The aim is to hopefully reach a master level of chess eventually, but to generally improve enough to make the University team in the next 2 years, which would require a level of Expert or higher.

The aim of this blog is to give updates on my progress, recommend training tips and books that I find useful, and hopefully to provide some game analysis as well on the side. Hopefully this will be enjoyable, and I will be successful! I hope to update you soon with some progress!

Leave a Reply

